Who is the most successful MotoGP™ rider at Assen? | Valentino Rossi Blog

Monday, June 22, 2015

Who is the most successful MotoGP™ rider at Assen?

All of the vital MotoGP™ stats you need to know ahead of the Motul TT Assen.

Assen is the only venue that has hosted a grand prix event every year since the motorcycle World Championship Grand Prix series started back in 1949.  Below are some facts and statistics about the Dutch TT:
  • This is the 85th time that a Dutch TT event has been held.  The first running of the Dutch TT was before the world championship series was created in 1925, and it has taken place every year since, with the exception of the years 1940 to 1945 because of the Second World War.  The event became part of the world championship series when it was first created in 1949 and is the only circuit to have been part of the series every year since, making this the 67th Dutch TT that has counted towards the world championship classification.
  • The original Assen circuit that was used up to 1954, measured 16.54 km.  This was reduced to 7.7 km in 1955 and then in 1984 further modifications to the circuit reduced the length to 6.1 km.  The current layout has been used since 2006, with a few minor adjustments.
  • The Dutch TT that took the longest time to complete was the 500cc race in 1950 that took place over eighteen laps of the 16.54 km circuit, a total of 298 km (185 miles).  The race was won by Umberto Masetti riding a Gilera in a time of 2 hrs 43.2 seconds.
  • The 500cc race at the 1975 Dutch TT is the only premier-class grand prix race where the first two riders across the line have been credited with the same race time.  Barry Sheene and Giacomo Agostini finished so close that the timekeepers of the day, using manual timing accurate to 0.1 sec, were unable to split them.
  • There have been a total of 256 world championship grand prix races for solo motorcycles held at the Assen circuit.
  • Yamaha are the most successful manufacturer at the Dutch TT since the start of the four-stroke MotoGP™ formula, with seven victories.  Honda has had five MotoGP™ wins at the Dutch TT and Ducati a single win in 2008.
  • The last win by Suzuki at the Dutch TT was in the 500cc race in 1993 with Kevin Schwantz.  The best results by Suzuki in the MotoGP™ era at the Dutch TT are 5th place finishes by John Hopkins in 2007 and Chris Vermeulen in 2009.
  • Ben Spies’ win at the Dutch TT in 2011 was the last MotoGP™ race won by a rider other than one of the following; Casey Stoner, Valentino Rossi, Dani Pedrosa, Marc Marquez, Jorge Lorenzo.
  • The last rider to win the MotoGP™ race at the Dutch TT in successive years is Valentino Rossi, in 2004 and 2005.
  • Last year at the Dutch TT, Aleix Espargaro riding the Forward Yamaha started from pole for the first time in his grand prix career on his 150th grand prix appearance.
  • The rider with most GP victories at Assen is Angel Nieto with 15 wins in the 125cc and 50cc classes, followed by Giacomo Agostini who had 14 wins riding 500cc and 350cc machines.
  • Among the current riders, Valentino Rossi has been the most successful at Assen with a total of eight victories, six in MotoGP™ and one each in the 250cc and 125cc classes.
  • Four Dutch riders have won grand prix races at their home circuit; Paul Lodewijkx the 50cc race in 1968, Wil Hartog the 500cc race in 1977, Jack Middelburg the 500cc race in 1980 and Hans Spaan the 125cc race in 1989.
  • The last Dutch rider to finish on the podium at the Dutch TT is Wilco Zeelenberg – 3rd in the 250cc race in 1994.

No comments:

Post a Comment

What are your thoughts ?

Post Top Ad